Cascabel Taqueria – Happy Hour Specials on the UES

Standard

Happy hour taco specials, what could be better? Read on for more on Cascabel Taqueria on the Upper East Side (81st and 2nd). They were running a happy hour special that started at 3pm, it included $4 tacos, which was a good deal considering I the regular price was 2 for $9.75. I’ll start with what I liked, the best things I had were the fish taco and the yuca fries.

The fish taco was made with battered fried tilapia, cabbage carrot cilantro slaw, and chipotle aioli. It wasn’t the best fish taco I’ve ever had but it was pretty good. The fish was crispy and went well with the aioli and slaw. I also loved how they included a pepper with the tacos, it was delicious and pretty spicy.

cascabel-fish-taco

I don’t think I’ve ever had yuca before but I loved these fried yuca. It was crispy, had great flavor from e paprika and the dipping sauce (chipotle aioli) was great too.

cascabel-yuca

I also had the chicken tacos, which were nothing special. Presentation was also lacking as you can see in the photo below.

cascabel-chicken-taco

The final taco I tried was the steak taco, I wouldn’t get it again. The steak was a bit too fatty for my liking.

cascabel-steak-taco

They had an interesting item on the menu, a pork belly sandwich. Again, I’m not a fan of fatty meats so I didn’t like it very much.

cascabel-gordita

To sum it up, here’s a chart with my ratings of everything I ate.

Item Rating (out of 5)
Chicken Tacos ★★★
Fish Taco ★★★★
Steak Taco ★★
Pork Belly Gordita ★★★
Fried Yuca ★★★★

BONUS REVIEW: Thanks to a yelp check-in deal I was able to snag some free churros for desert. They were deliciously crispy, but I didn’t feel the accompanying chocolate dipping sauce was up to snuff. The sauce was a bit watery and not flavorful enough to really be worth using on these delicious churros.

cascabel-churro

Leave a comment